Eye Filmmuseum is temporarily closed

As a result of the measures to combat the coronavirus, Eye Filmmuseum is temporarily closed. Terrace Eye Bar Restaurant and Eye Shop are open.

Read more
Close

Explore our collection

The Eye collection dates back to 1946, when the first predecessor of Eye was founded: the Nederlands Historisch Filmarchief. In 1952, this became the Dutch Filmmuseum, and since 2010 we are Eye Filmmuseum.

The oldest film in our collection dates back to 1896. However, we do not exclusively acquire and preserve films, but a range of different materials – from movie posters to projection equipment. The focus is on films and objects that say something about Dutch film culture; a copy of virtually all Dutch films that come out each year is included in the collection.

Latest news

Eye Collection Centre exterior
© Luuk Kramer
Frame from Le dirigeable fantastique, Georges Méliès
Frame from Le dirigeable fantastique, Georges Méliès (1906)

Managing all these different materials involves all kinds of specializations. A film is stored under different archival conditions than a movie poster, so each of the depots has its own climate settings. Nearly all the depots today are in our new Collection Centre.

Visit the Collection Centre

Asterweg 26
1031HP Amsterdam
020 5891411
eyestudy@eyefilm.nl

Get directions