Eye Prize

Marking a collaboration between Eye, the Dutch film museum and the Paddy and Joan Leigh Fermor Arts Fund since 2015, the Eye Art & Film Prize is set to highlight the intricate relation between contemporary art and film. In April 2018, Belgian/Mexican artist Francis Alÿs won the fourth Eye Art & Film Prize. Previous winners of the prestigious prize are German artist Hito Steyerl in 2015, UK based filmmaker Ben Rivers in 2016 and Chinese artist/filmmaker Wang Bing 2017.

The annual 25,000 GBP prize is to fund the making of new work by a living artist. The aim of the prize is to support and promote the artist or filmmaker whose work unites art and film, and demonstrates quality of thought, imagination and artistic excellence.

Eye ’s commitment to exploring the interface between art and film—both historical and contemporary developments—is clearly illustrated by its programming of exhibitions, screening room programmes, events, lectures and symposia. The many artists/filmmakers that have been the subject of dedicated exhibitions include Yang Fudong, Oskar Fischinger, Brothers Quay, Fiona Tan, Anthony McCall, Isaac Julien, David Maljkovic, Douglas Gordon, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, Nicolas Provost, and Slater Bradley, William Kentridge, Tacita Dean, Rosa Barba, João Maria Gusmão & Pedro Paiva.

With the undeniable intimate relationship between the moving image and contemporary arts, it is about time for a prize for work that brings these two art forms together. EYE is delighted that the PJLF Arts Fund has made the creation of this prize possible, and, with our additional commitment to stage an exhibition every four years of the three previous years’ EYE Prize winners, EYE will cement its position as a leading and international institution for film and art
Sandra den Hamer, CEO of Eye

An international jury consisting of prominent figures from the worlds of art and cinema will select the recipient. The selection will be made on the basis of the recipient's body of work—an artist who is developing a significant oeuvre. The first Eye Prize winners’ exhibition will take place in 2018.

Artists/filmmakers cannot apply for The Eye Art & Film Prize, it’s not an open call. The international advisory board will make the selection of nominated candidates for the Eye Art & Film Prize to present to the Eye Prize jury. The winner will be announced at the annual Eye Gala on April 5, 2018, to coincide with the Eye’s fifth anniversary. 

the jury for the 2018 prize:

Sandra den Hamer, Chairman (The Netherlands) - CEO Eye
Agnès B. (France) - Fashion designer | art collector and patron
Solange Farkas (Brazil) - Director and curator of Associação Cultural Videobrasil
Andrea Lissoni (Italy/UK) - Senior Curator International Art (Film), Tate Modern
Aernout Mik (The Netherlands) - Artist
Olivia Stewart (United Kingdom) - Trustee PJLF Arts Fund | Producer | Screenwriter
Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Thailand) - Film Director

advisory board 2018:

Jaap Guldemond, Head of the Advisory Board (The Netherlands) - Director of Exhibitions / Curator, Eye
Simon Field (United Kingdom) - Producer
Nalini Malani (India) - Filmmaker | Artist
Sarah Perks (United Kingdom) - Artistic Director HOME | Professor of Visual Arts, Manchester School of Arts
Susanne Pfeffer (Germany) - Director / Curator Fridericianum Kassel    
Rachel Spence (United Kingdom) - Arts Writer | Poet
Cuauhtémoc Medina (Mexico) - Curator | Critic | Art historian                                                                                                                                                                                                              

Film, arguably the most dynamic of all the arts, only came into being in the late 19th century. In the late 1920s, artists such as Marcel Duchamp, Luis Buñuel and Hans Richter, averse to the commercial expressions of film, recognised the possibilities of film as a medium for their art. It would not be until the 1960s that cinema would play again such an important role in art when artists such as Andy Warhol, Anthony McCall and Michael Snow gave film the status of museum art.

The medium of film made its definitive breakthrough in the arts in the mid-nineties. Taking advantage of the digital revolution, inexpensive video projectors and advancing technology, a new generation of artists saw film and moving images as a perfect means of expression for their era. Artists such as Douglas Gordon, Steve McQueen, Fiona Tan and Isaac Julian, Aernout Mik, Pipilotti Rist and many others moved the 'white box' into a 'black box'.

Today, the landscape of the moving image continues to open up and reveal that an increasingly large number of filmmakers are also liberating themselves from the confines of the cinema and discovering the possibilities of the three-dimensional exhibition space. Vast, exuberant installations covering several screens, but also small and intimate presentations with a single screen or LCD monitor as part of a multimedia installation, and all things in between, demonstrate that the fringe between Art and Film has come of age.

The PJLF Arts Fund was established in 2011 with a view to helping artists, writers, filmmakers and musicians. Patrick Leigh Fermor (1915–2011) was a celebrated British writer. His wife, Joan Eyres Monsell (1911–2003), was a professional photographer. Both their archives are housed at the National Library of Scotland in Edinburgh.

for further information, please contact

Jane Wang, Pickles PR: jane@picklespr.com

General information on the Eye Film & Art Prize:
Daan Gielis, Coordinator, Eye Prize: daangielis@eyefilm.nl

General information on the PJLF Arts Fund:
Chris Paton: chris@threeriversfilm.com

credits photos

photography: Esmee Ottema

photography: Hans Wilschut
depicted art work: Ten Thousand Waves by Isaac Julien