Theme

Xtended

New series on cinematographic and artistic VR

Virtual Reality productions are an increasingly important element of the contemporary film experience. Eye has created a new programme, Xtended, to focus on VR. In Xtended, you’re not confronted with the flat surface of a film screen. You move around virtually in 3D through a designed space that surrounds and immerses you on all sides.

Xtended presents work by artists and filmmakers Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Laurie Anderson, Marina Abramović and Tsai Ming-liang, who are cued by VR experience to offer alternative and challenging views of our world. Their virtual stories, visual finds and triggered experiences touch our emotions, resonate with us and make us stop and think.

William Uricchio on Virtual Reality

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

coming soon

Rising
Marina Abramović
20 - 30 November 2018

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

future programming

The Deserted
Tsai Ming-liang
10 - 30 January 2019

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

past editions of Xtended

Chalkroom
Laurie Anderson (in collaboration with Hsin-Chien Huang)
30 August - 16 September 2018

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

CARNE y ARENA (Virtually Present, Physically Invisible)
Alejandro González Iñárritu
15 Juni - 26 August 2018

To accompany the installation, Eye offers a comprehensive programme of films, talks and events on borders and migration, also drawing on its own collection. Please find the full programme below on this page.

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

My Name is Peter Stillman
Paul Auster / 59 Productions
31 March - 10 April 2018

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

sponsors & partners

Partner to Xtended: 

Sponsor to Xtended:

AFK Amsterdams fonds voor de kunst

Agenda

Thursday, 15 Nov 2018

Friday, 16 Nov 2018

Saturday, 17 Nov 2018

Sunday, 18 Nov 2018

Monday, 19 Nov 2018

Tuesday, 20 Nov 2018

Wednesday, 21 Nov 2018

Thursday, 22 Nov 2018

Friday, 23 Nov 2018

Saturday, 24 Nov 2018

Sunday, 25 Nov 2018

Monday, 26 Nov 2018

Tuesday, 27 Nov 2018

Wednesday, 28 Nov 2018

Thursday, 29 Nov 2018

Friday, 30 Nov 2018

Thursday, 10 Jan 2019

Friday, 11 Jan 2019

Saturday, 12 Jan 2019

Sunday, 13 Jan 2019

Monday, 14 Jan 2019

Tuesday, 15 Jan 2019

Wednesday, 16 Jan 2019

Thursday, 17 Jan 2019

Friday, 18 Jan 2019

Saturday, 19 Jan 2019

Sunday, 20 Jan 2019

Monday, 21 Jan 2019

Tuesday, 22 Jan 2019

Wednesday, 23 Jan 2019

Thursday, 24 Jan 2019

Friday, 25 Jan 2019

Saturday, 26 Jan 2019

Sunday, 27 Jan 2019

Monday, 28 Jan 2019

Tuesday, 29 Jan 2019

Wednesday, 30 Jan 2019

Full programme

From A to Z