Theme

Xtended

New series on cinematographic and artistic VR

Virtual Reality productions are an increasingly important element of the contemporary film experience. Eye has created a new programme, Xtended, to focus on VR. In Xtended, you’re not confronted with the flat surface of a film screen. You move around virtually in 3D through a designed space that surrounds and immerses you on all sides.

Xtended presents work by artists and filmmakers Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Laurie Anderson, Marina Abramović and Tsai Ming-liang, who are cued by VR experience to offer alternative and challenging views of our world. Their virtual stories, visual finds and triggered experiences touch our emotions, resonate with us and make us stop and think.

William Uricchio on Virtual Reality

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

future programming

C.S.S.C. Coach Stage Stage Coach
27 July through 11 August 2019

past editions

an overview of past editions of Xtended

Das Totale Tanz Theater
5 - 13 March 2019

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

The Deserted
Tsai Ming-liang
10 - 30 January 2019

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

Rising
Marina Abramović
15 - 30 November 2018

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

Chalkroom
Laurie Anderson (in collaboration with Hsin-Chien Huang)
30 August - 16 September 2018

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

CARNE y ARENA (Virtually Present, Physically Invisible)
Alejandro González Iñárritu
15 June - 26 August 2018

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

My Name is Peter Stillman
Paul Auster / 59 Productions
31 March - 10 April 2018

To view this video, you need to accept cookies click here

virtual reality sickness

VR can have side effects. You can find more information here.

sponsors & partners

Partner to Xtended: 

Sponsor to Xtended:

AFK Amsterdams fonds voor de kunst

Agenda

Thursday, 25 Jul 2019

Friday, 26 Jul 2019

Saturday, 27 Jul 2019

Sunday, 28 Jul 2019

Monday, 29 Jul 2019

Tuesday, 30 Jul 2019

Wednesday, 31 Jul 2019

Thursday, 1 Aug 2019

Friday, 2 Aug 2019

Saturday, 3 Aug 2019

Sunday, 4 Aug 2019

Monday, 5 Aug 2019

Tuesday, 6 Aug 2019

Wednesday, 7 Aug 2019

Thursday, 8 Aug 2019

Friday, 9 Aug 2019

Saturday, 10 Aug 2019

Sunday, 11 Aug 2019

Tuesday, 13 Aug 2019

Full programme

From A to Z